- What Is Actually Known About the CFm Passing Standard
- Exam Format and What It Means for Scoring
- Reading the 93% Pass Rate Without Over-Reading It
- Where Your Points Come From: The Five Domains
- Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
- Scheduling Preparation Around the Weights
- Exam-Day Logistics That Protect Your Score
- After You Pass: Renewal and Employers
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ABC has not publicly verified a numeric passing standard for the Certified Fitter-mastectomy (CFm) exam, so beware of any "exact" cut score.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions; ABC does not disclose the scored versus unscored split.
- Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) together carry 61% of the blueprint.
- Application $55 plus exam $160 totals $215; a retake costs $160.
What Is Actually Known About the CFm Passing Standard
Candidates searching for the passing score on the Certified Fitter-mastectomy exam usually want one number: how many of the 125 questions they must answer correctly. The honest answer is that the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC) has not published a numeric passing standard that can be verified from public materials. Any source that names a specific percentage or raw-score cut for the CFm exam is either guessing or borrowing from a different credential.
That caution matters because several unrelated credentials use the same "CMF" abbreviation. This site covers only the ABC credential, officially designated CFm, Certified Fitter-mastectomy. Passing standards, fees, and pass rates from other certifications with similar acronyms do not apply here. If you are still sorting out the terminology, our explainers on what CMF certification is and what CMF stands for clarify exactly which credential we mean.
Exam Format and What It Means for Scoring
The CFm exam is a computer-based test of 125 multiple-choice questions, delivered through Meazure Learning either at a testing center or by live-remote proctoring. It is closed book and administered in English. ABC does not disclose how many of the 125 items are scored versus unscored pretest items, which is a common practice in credentialing exams. For you, that means you cannot calculate a safe number of misses, and you should treat every question as if it counts.
Time allowed: confirm before you test
Published time limits conflict. ABC's current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 candidate guide lists 180 minutes. Do not rely on either figure from a blog, including this one. Check your authorization-to-test notice and the exam information current at the time you register, and plan your pacing around the time stated there.
What we could not verify
- Whether a calculator is permitted or provided.
- Whether the exam is adaptive or fixed-form.
- How many items are unscored.
- The numeric passing standard.
When a detail is unverified, the safest move is to read the candidate guide that accompanies your application and confirm it in your authorization email. For a broader look at the exam experience, see how hard the CMF exam is.
Reading the 93% Pass Rate Without Over-Reading It
ABC reports a 93% first-time pass rate for 2025. That is a strong figure, but interpret it carefully. The same year's data shows 47 exams administered, and that count is not a verified first-time denominator, so you should not treat 93% as a precise statistic about a large, clean cohort. The sample is small, and small samples swing.
The useful reading is qualitative: candidates who meet the prerequisites and prepare against the blueprint generally pass. Candidates are also self-selected. Most have completed an approved course and logged supervised clinical hours before they are even eligible to sit, which pre-filters the pool. Do not assume the exam is easy because the pass rate is high; assume the prerequisites did much of the screening. Our CMF pass rate analysis goes deeper into what the data does and does not show.
Where Your Points Come From: The Five Domains
Because the cut score is not public, the blueprint is your best guide to where points live. The January 2025 HTML blueprint lists five domains. Note that percentages in a separate linked work-time PDF describe time spent on tasks, not exam weights, so use the figures below.
| Domain | Weight | Scoring implication |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Patient Evaluation | 29% | Second-largest block; assessment judgment drives many items |
| 2. Formulation of the Treatment Plan | 15% | Connects evaluation findings to product and approach decisions |
| 3. Implementation of the Treatment Plan | 32% | Largest block; hands-on fitting and delivery scenarios |
| 4. Continuation of the Treatment Plan | 8% | Smallest block; follow-up, adjustment, and care continuity |
| 5. Practice Management | 16% | Documentation, ethics, and business-side knowledge |
Domains 1 and 3 add up to 61% of the exam. You can weaken Domain 4 and still pass if the rest is solid, but neglecting the two big domains is the fastest way to put your result at risk. For a full walkthrough of each area, read the complete guide to the five CMF exam domains.
Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
This is where fitter competence is tested most directly. Expect scenarios about carrying out the plan safely and correctly for the individual patient.
- Fitting and sizing decisions for post-mastectomy products
- Product selection matched to the evaluation and plan
- Patient instruction on wear, care, and use
- Recognizing when a fit problem needs adjustment or referral
Patient Evaluation (29%)
Strong evaluation skills feed every later decision. Questions here test what you gather, observe, and recognize before any product is chosen.
- Relevant history and surgical context
- Physical observation and measurement
- Identifying precautions and red flags
- Understanding the patient's goals and needs
Practice Management (16%)
Often underestimated by clinically focused candidates. These items reward familiarity with professional standards rather than bedside skill.
- Documentation and record-keeping expectations
- Ethical and professional conduct
- Business practices relevant to fitters
Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
Understanding the money and the attempt rules changes how you think about "the passing score," because a failed attempt has real consequences.
| Item | Amount or rule |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $55 |
| Exam fee | $160 |
| Total first attempt | $215 (no member tier) |
| Retake fee | $160 |
| Late application (when allowed) | $100 |
Under the current eligibility rules, you have four attempts within three years, and your first attempt must occur within one year. A separate policy with two eligibility periods, a six-year window, and eight total attempts begins January 1, 2027. Confirm which policy governs your situation when you apply. The full pricing picture is in our CMF certification cost breakdown, and eligibility details are in the CMF requirements guide.
Scheduling Preparation Around the Weights
Since no cut score exists to aim at, allocate time in proportion to the blueprint. One compact way to do that over a few weeks is below. For deeper methodology, see the CMF study guide.
Patient Evaluation
- Review assessment steps, history-taking, and precautions
- Work evaluation-based scenario questions
Implementation of the Treatment Plan
- Concentrate on fitting, sizing, product matching, and patient instruction
- Take extra time here: it is the heaviest domain
Treatment Plan Formulation and Continuation
- Link evaluation findings to plan decisions
- Cover follow-up and adjustment briefly but completely
Practice Management and mixed review
- Documentation, ethics, and business items
- Full-length mixed practice under timed conditions
The logic: front-load the two domains worth 61%, then use later weeks to close gaps in the smaller areas and rehearse under realistic conditions. A one-page recap such as the CMF cheat sheet works well for the final review.
Exam-Day Logistics That Protect Your Score
You can lose points to logistics rather than knowledge. Delivery is through Meazure Learning, either at a test center or via live-remote proctoring, and each mode has its own check-in requirements.
- Verify your time allowance. Reconcile the 150-minute and 180-minute figures against your authorization notice.
- Test your setup early if remote. Run the system check well before exam day.
- Plan pacing across 125 questions. Without knowing which items are unscored, do not spend disproportionate time on any single question.
- Remember it is closed book. Do not expect reference materials at your station.
- Check the date window. See CMF exam dates and scheduling for how to plan the timeline.
Key Takeaway
Treat "passing" as coverage of the blueprint, not a number to hit. Build depth in Implementation of the Treatment Plan and Patient Evaluation, confirm your time limit in writing, and avoid scheduling before a timed full-length practice run shows no weak domain.
After You Pass: Renewal and Employers
Passing earns the CFm designation, but maintaining it carries ongoing requirements: a $60 annual renewal and 10 continuing education credits per five years, with a minimum of 5 scientific credits and a maximum of 5 business or ethics credits. Build CE into your calendar from the start so renewal never becomes a scramble.
Certified fitters typically work where post-mastectomy products are dispensed and fitted, such as orthotic and prosthetic practices, medical supply providers, and boutiques serving breast cancer patients. To explore the market, see CMF jobs, the CMF salary guide, and the ROI analysis of the certification. When you are ready to measure your readiness, return to the main practice test site.
Frequently Asked Questions
ABC has not publicly verified a numeric passing standard for the Certified Fitter-mastectomy exam. Any specific percentage or raw score you see cited should be treated as unconfirmed. Focus on mastering all five blueprint domains rather than chasing a number.
There are 125 multiple-choice questions. ABC does not disclose how many are scored and how many are unscored, so treat each question as if it counts.
The official 2025 first-time pass rate is 93%. However, 47 exams administered is not a verified first-time denominator, so read the figure as a general indicator of favorable odds for prepared candidates, not a precise statistic.
A retake costs $160. The first attempt totals $215 ($55 application plus $160 exam), and there is no member discount tier. Check eligibility rules, since attempts are limited.
Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) make up 61% of the blueprint, so they deserve the most study time. Practice Management (16%), Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%), and Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%) fill out the rest.