- Confirm You Are Studying the Right CMF
- The Exam at a Glance
- Eligibility Checklist
- Fees and Registration Mechanics
- Blueprint Weights: Where the Points Live
- Domain-by-Domain Fact Sheet
- A Weight-Driven Review Schedule
- What Is Not Publicly Verified
- After You Pass: Maintaining the Credential
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CMF here means Certified Fitter-mastectomy (ABC designation CFm), not any other credential sharing the acronym.
- Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) together make up 61% of the blueprint.
- Total first-attempt cost is $215: a $55 application plus a $160 exam fee.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions; confirm your time limit (150 vs. 180 minutes) on your authorization.
Confirm You Are Studying the Right CMF
Before you memorize anything, make sure the credential matches your career path. The CMF covered on this page is the Certified Fitter-mastectomy, awarded by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC). Its official designation is CFm. Other credentials use the same three letters, but they come from different certifying bodies, have different exams, and share nothing with this one. If your goal is fitting breast prostheses and mastectomy-related products for patients, you are in the right place.
If you are still orienting yourself, these background pieces help: What Is CMF Certification?, What Does CMF Stand For?, and CMF Meaning. This cheat sheet assumes you already know the credential is right for you and want the facts on one page.
The Exam at a Glance
The CMF exam is a computer-based test, delivered through Meazure Learning either at a testing center or by live-remote proctoring. It is closed book and offered in English. Here is the format condensed into a quick reference.
| Item | What to Know |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Fitter-mastectomy (CFm) |
| Governing body | American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC) |
| Delivery | Meazure Learning test center or live-remote CBT |
| Questions | 125 multiple choice |
| Scored vs. unscored | Split not disclosed |
| Time limit | Current exam page lists 150 minutes; a December 2024 guide listed 180 minutes. Confirm against your authorization. |
| Reference materials | Closed book |
| Language | English |
| Passing standard | Numeric standard not publicly verified |
Because the scored/unscored split is undisclosed, treat every question as if it counts. Do not try to guess which items are pretest questions; that habit wastes time and attention.
Eligibility Checklist
ABC will not authorize you to test until the prerequisites are documented. Use this as a self-audit, and read the full details in CMF Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
- Age: at least 18 years old.
- Education: a high school diploma or GED.
- Approved course: an ABC-approved mastectomy fitter course. As of April 2026 the minimum is 8 hours, made up of 6 hours didactic and 2 hours laboratory.
- Clinical experience: 120 supervised clinical hours, or the qualifying 60-hour allied-health route.
- Attestation: the required attestation must be completed as part of your application.
Candidates often run into trouble not because they lack skills but because their supervised hours or course documentation is incomplete. Gather certificates, supervisor details, and hour logs before you open the application. If you are comparing training options, CMF Training covers how candidates typically prepare.
Fees and Registration Mechanics
The cost structure is simple, and there is no member discount tier to hunt for.
| Fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $55 |
| Exam | $160 |
| First-attempt total | $215 |
| Retake | $160 |
| Late application (when allowed) | $100 |
| Annual renewal | $60 |
The practical takeaway: a retake costs the exam fee only, but it still consumes one of your limited attempts, so it is smarter to be ready the first time. For a fuller budgeting picture including preparation costs, see CMF Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and check scheduling windows in CMF Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Attempt limits you must track
Two policies matter, and the date you test determines which applies:
- Current eligibility: four attempts within three years, with your first attempt occurring within one year of becoming eligible.
- Policy beginning January 1, 2027: a separate framework of two periods, six years, and eight attempts.
If you are sitting before 2027, the four-attempt, three-year rule is the one to plan around. Confirm your own eligibility window directly with ABC, since your first-attempt deadline is the date most candidates forget.
Blueprint Weights: Where the Points Live
The January 2025 HTML blueprint lists five domains. Memorize this table, because it tells you where to spend your hours.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| 1. Patient Evaluation | 29% |
| 2. Formulation of the Treatment Plan | 15% |
| 3. Implementation of the Treatment Plan | 32% |
| 4. Continuation of the Treatment Plan | 8% |
| 5. Practice Management | 16% |
One caution: ABC also publishes a linked work-time PDF with its own percentages. Those figures describe how practitioners spend their time on the job, not how exam questions are weighted. Do not mix the two up. For deeper coverage of each area, read CMF Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain-by-Domain Fact Sheet
Domain 1: Patient Evaluation (29%)
This domain is about gathering the information that makes a safe, appropriate fitting possible. Expect scenario-style questions where you must recognize what matters in a patient's presentation.
- Patient history relevant to surgery type and recovery stage
- Physical observation and measurement of the chest, torso, and surgical site
- Recognizing findings that call for referral or communication with the care team
- Understanding the patient's lifestyle, comfort needs, and goals
Domain 2: Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%)
Here you translate evaluation findings into a product and care approach. Questions test judgment: matching the patient's needs to the right type of prosthesis, garment, or accessory.
- Selecting products appropriate to surgery type, healing stage, and body shape
- Setting realistic goals and expectations with the patient
- Coordinating with physicians and other providers when the plan requires it
Domain 3: Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
The heaviest domain. It covers the hands-on process of fitting, adjusting, and instructing. Expect applied questions about what you do in the fitting room and how you verify the result.
- Fitting and sizing prostheses and garments correctly
- Evaluating fit, comfort, symmetry, and function after application
- Patient instruction on wear, care, cleaning, and replacement
- Making adjustments or modifications when the first fit falls short
- Maintaining privacy, dignity, and sensitive communication during the fitting
Domain 4: Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%)
The smallest domain, covering follow-up and long-term care. Do not skip it; an 8% share is still a meaningful block of questions.
- Follow-up assessment of fit and patient satisfaction
- Recognizing when changes in the patient's body or needs require a new fitting
- Reinforcing patient education over time
Domain 5: Practice Management (16%)
The professional side of the role. These questions reward knowing standards of practice rather than clinical technique.
- Documentation and record keeping
- Ethical and professional conduct, including patient confidentiality
- Billing and coverage awareness relevant to your practice setting
- Facility, equipment, and inventory management
For a method on turning these topics into a plan, see CMF Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
A Weight-Driven Review Schedule
The only study method worth outlining here is one built directly on the blueprint: spend your time in proportion to domain weight, and front-load the two heavy domains. A four-week arrangement looks like this.
Patient Evaluation (29%)
- Review assessment steps and the findings that change a fitting decision
- Practice scenario questions, then review every miss
Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
- Walk through the full fitting sequence from sizing to verification
- Drill patient-instruction and troubleshooting scenarios
Formulation (15%) and Practice Management (16%)
- Match patient profiles to product choices
- Review documentation, ethics, and confidentiality standards
Continuation (8%) and full-length review
- Cover follow-up and re-fitting triggers
- Take timed practice sets against your authorized time limit
Taking timed sets in the final week matters because of the 125-question format. Test yourself with the CMF practice test to build pacing, and use your missed questions to decide which domain gets extra hours.
Key Takeaway
Schedule your hardest, highest-weight material first. If Weeks 1 and 2 go well, you have already covered 61% of the blueprint with time left to correct weak spots.
What Is Not Publicly Verified
A good cheat sheet is honest about its gaps. Several details candidates ask about cannot be confirmed from public ABC sources, so treat any claim you see elsewhere with caution.
- Numeric passing standard: not publicly verified. See CMF Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for what can and cannot be said.
- Scored/unscored question split: undisclosed.
- Calculator availability and adaptive testing: not verified. Check your candidate handbook rather than assuming.
- Time limit: sources conflict (150 vs. 180 minutes), so rely on your authorization.
Reading the pass rate carefully
ABC's official 2025 first-time pass rate is 93%. A separate figure of 47 exams administered is not a verified first-time denominator, so do not divide or extrapolate from it. A high pass rate suggests the exam is passable for prepared candidates, but it says little about how any individual will fare. More context is in CMF Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and How Hard Is the CMF Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
After You Pass: Maintaining the Credential
Certification is not a one-time event. To keep CFm status active, you need to meet both a financial and a continuing-education requirement.
| Requirement | Detail |
|---|---|
| Annual renewal | $60 per year |
| Continuing education | 10 CE credits per five years |
| CE split | Minimum 5 scientific; maximum 5 business/ethics |
Because at least half of your CE must be scientific, plan ahead rather than collecting all credits in the final year. If you are weighing whether the credential fits your career, explore CMF Jobs, CMF Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and Is the CMF Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Certified Fitter-mastectomy exam has 125 multiple-choice questions. ABC does not disclose how many are scored versus unscored, so answer every question as though it counts.
The first attempt costs $215 total: a $55 application fee plus a $160 exam fee. A retake costs $160, and a late application, when permitted, adds $100. There is no member pricing tier.
Implementation of the Treatment Plan at 32% and Patient Evaluation at 29% together account for 61% of the blueprint. Practice Management is 16%, Formulation of the Treatment Plan is 15%, and Continuation of the Treatment Plan is 8%.
Sources differ: the current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 guide listed 180 minutes. Confirm the limit printed on your own authorization before test day.
Pay the $60 annual renewal and earn 10 CE credits every five years, with a minimum of 5 scientific credits and no more than 5 business/ethics credits counting toward the total.
Use this sheet as your checklist, then pressure-test your knowledge with realistic questions on the CMF Exam Prep practice site, and keep the weighted blueprint in front of you as you decide where to spend each study session.