CMF logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is CMF?

TL;DR
  • CMF here means Certified Fitter-mastectomy (ABC designation CFm), not the separate BOC credential that shares the acronym.
  • The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions; Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) make up 61%.
  • Total first-attempt cost is $215: a $55 application fee plus a $160 exam fee, with a $160 retake fee.
  • Candidates need an approved course (minimum 8 hours as of April 2026) plus 120 supervised clinical hours or a qualifying 60-hour allied-health route.

CMF Defined: Certified Fitter-mastectomy

On this site, CMF stands for Certified Fitter-mastectomy. The official designation issued by the certifying body is CFm. The credential recognizes clinicians and technicians who evaluate patients after breast surgery and fit them with mastectomy products such as breast forms, post-surgical garments, and mastectomy bras.

The acronym causes real confusion. Several unrelated credentials in other fields use the same three letters, and a search for "CMF" returns a mixed bag of results. The credential discussed here has no connection to the separate BOC CMF credential. If you are researching a certification for mastectomy fitting, you are in the right place. Our companion pages on what CMF stands for and the meaning of CMF cover the naming question in more detail.

Identity check: Certified Fitter-mastectomy is an American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics credential. If a source quotes exam fees, dates, or pass rates for a different "CMF," those numbers do not apply to this exam.

Who Awards the Credential

The credential is governed by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC). ABC is the same organization that certifies practitioners in orthotics, prosthetics, and pedorthics, and it also offers a set of fitter-level and facility credentials. The mastectomy fitter designation sits within that family, which explains why the exam's tone emphasizes clinical documentation, patient safety, and professional ethics rather than retail sales technique alone.

Testing is delivered through Meazure Learning, either at a testing center or by live-remote computer-based testing.

What a Certified Fitter-mastectomy Actually Does

A mastectomy fitter works with people who have had a mastectomy, lumpectomy, or related breast surgery. The work blends clinical judgment with interpersonal sensitivity. A typical patient encounter moves through a predictable arc, and that arc is mirrored in the exam's domain structure:

  1. Evaluating the patient: reviewing history, surgical details, physician orders, skin condition, and any complications or contraindications.
  2. Formulating a plan: selecting appropriate products and a fitting approach based on the evaluation.
  3. Implementing the plan: measuring, fitting, adjusting, educating the patient on use and care, and documenting the encounter.
  4. Continuing the plan: follow-up, reassessment, and adjustments as the patient's body and needs change.
  5. Managing the practice: documentation, billing awareness, privacy, ethics, and facility standards.

For a broader look at the credential and what it signals to employers, see our overview of CMF certification and the explainer on what CMF certification is.

Exam Format and Delivery

The exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions. ABC does not publicly disclose how many of those are scored versus unscored pretest items, so candidates should treat every question as if it counts. The test is closed book and administered in English.

Exam FeatureWhat Is Documented
Question count125 multiple-choice questions
Scored/unscored splitNot disclosed
Time allowedCurrent exam page lists 150 minutes; a December 2024 guide listed 180 minutes. Confirm the figure on your authorization.
DeliveryMeazure Learning testing center or live-remote CBT
Reference materialsClosed book
LanguageEnglish
Numeric passing standardNot publicly verified

Two items in that table deserve a caution. First, the time limit has appeared as both 150 and 180 minutes in different ABC documents, so rely on the details printed in your own exam authorization rather than any third-party summary. Second, the numeric passing standard has not been publicly verified, and the details of calculator availability and adaptive testing are likewise unconfirmed. Our page on the CMF passing score explains how to interpret what is and is not known.

Because the exam is multiple choice and scenario-flavored, the realistic preparation target is applied judgment: given a patient situation, which evaluation finding matters, which product choice fits, which fitting step comes next, which documentation or ethics obligation applies.

The Five Exam Domains

The January 2025 HTML blueprint organizes the exam into five domains. Two of them, Implementation of the Treatment Plan and Patient Evaluation, together account for 61% of the exam. That concentration should shape how you allocate study time.

DomainWeight
Domain 1: Patient Evaluation29%
Domain 2: Formulation of the Treatment Plan15%
Domain 3: Implementation of the Treatment Plan32%
Domain 4: Continuation of the Treatment Plan8%
Domain 5: Practice Management16%
A note on work-time percentages: ABC also links a work-time PDF containing its own percentages. Those figures describe how professionals spend their time on the job and are not exam weights. Use the blueprint percentages above when budgeting study hours.

Domain 1: Patient Evaluation (29%)

This domain tests whether you can gather and interpret the information that drives every later decision.

  • Reviewing medical history, surgical type, and physician orders
  • Assessing skin integrity, tissue condition, and healing status
  • Recognizing contraindications and situations requiring referral or clarification
  • Understanding the patient's functional needs, lifestyle, and goals

Domain 2: Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%)

Here the exam asks you to translate evaluation findings into a sensible product and fitting strategy.

  • Matching product categories to post-surgical stage and patient needs
  • Considering timing, comfort, and compatibility with other care
  • Setting expectations and documenting the rationale

Domain 3: Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)

The largest domain covers the hands-on delivery of care.

  • Taking measurements and selecting sizes accurately
  • Fitting, adjusting, and verifying fit and function
  • Patient education on wear, care, cleaning, and replacement
  • Communicating with sensitivity and maintaining privacy during the fitting
  • Documenting what was provided and what the patient was taught

Domain 4: Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%)

The smallest domain addresses what happens after the initial fitting.

  • Follow-up and reassessment of fit as the patient changes
  • Recognizing when adjustments, replacements, or referrals are needed

Domain 5: Practice Management (16%)

This domain covers the professional and operational framework around patient care.

  • Documentation standards and record keeping
  • Ethical practice and professional boundaries
  • Privacy and confidentiality obligations
  • Facility and business considerations relevant to fitting services

For a deeper walkthrough of each content area, read the full CMF exam domains guide.

Who Can Sit for the Exam

Eligibility is built around three layers: baseline requirements, education, and supervised clinical experience.

  • Baseline: at least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or GED.
  • Education: completion of an approved course. As of April 2026, the minimum is 8 hours, made up of 6 hours of didactic instruction and 2 hours of laboratory work.
  • Clinical experience: either 120 supervised clinical hours, or a qualifying route based on 60 hours of allied-health experience.
  • Attestation: a required attestation must be completed as part of the application.

The practical takeaway is to document your coursework and your supervised hours carefully from day one. Applications stall when hours cannot be verified or the course provider is not on the approved list. A detailed checklist is available in our guide to CMF requirements and eligibility, and our page on CMF training discusses how to choose among course options.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

Cost ItemAmount
Application fee$55
Exam fee$160
Total for first attempt$215
Retake fee$160
Late application fee (when allowed)$100
Annual renewal$60

There is no member discount tier, so the price is the same regardless of professional association membership. The late application fee applies only when a late filing is permitted, which is not guaranteed. Budget separately for your approved course and any study materials, since those costs sit outside ABC's fees. For a fuller accounting, see the CMF certification cost breakdown, and check the CMF exam dates and scheduling guide for how testing windows work.

Attempt Limits and Policy Changes

Attempt rules are one of the places where candidates get caught off guard, because two policies exist on a timeline.

Current policy: Candidates are eligible for up to four attempts within three years, and the first attempt must occur within one year of eligibility. Starting January 1, 2027, a separate policy takes effect that uses two eligibility periods, a six-year window, and a cap of eight attempts. Confirm which policy applies to your application date before you schedule.

The strategic implication is simple: do not treat a first attempt as a practice run. Even with a $160 retake fee, each attempt consumes part of a finite allotment and a time window. ABC's reported 2025 first-time pass rate was 93%. Be careful with that number, though. A separate figure of 47 exams administered is not a verified first-time denominator, so the sample behind any pass-rate claim should be read with caution. Our analysis of the CMF pass rate goes into what the data can and cannot support, and how hard the CMF exam is puts the difficulty in context.

Where Fitters Work and Who Hires

Certified mastectomy fitters work wherever post-surgical breast care products are dispensed. Common settings include:

  • Mastectomy and specialty boutiques that focus on post-surgical products and private fittings
  • Orthotic and prosthetic practices that offer mastectomy products alongside other services, a natural fit given ABC's broader orientation
  • Durable medical equipment suppliers that bill for post-surgical items
  • Hospital and cancer center programs with on-site fitting rooms or retail partnerships
  • Lingerie and intimate apparel retailers with a dedicated post-surgical department

Employers value the credential because it gives them a documented standard for evaluation, fitting technique, and professional conduct, which matters for patient trust and for payer-facing documentation. Compensation varies with setting, region, and experience, and we avoid quoting unverified numbers here; our CMF salary guide and CMF jobs overview discuss the qualitative picture, and the ROI analysis helps you weigh the credential against your own situation.

Keeping the Credential Active

Certification is not a one-time event. To maintain it you must:

  • Pay the $60 annual renewal fee.
  • Earn 10 continuing education credits every five years.
  • Within those 10 credits, include at least 5 scientific credits, with a maximum of 5 business/ethics credits counting toward the total.

Plan CE early rather than cramming in year five. Because business and ethics credits are capped, you cannot satisfy the requirement with administrative topics alone; the scientific minimum forces some clinical learning.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Because the exam is weighted so heavily toward two domains, a domain-driven schedule beats a flat read-through. One sensible sequence for a multi-week plan:

Weeks 1-2

Patient Evaluation (29%)

  • Surgical types, orders, and history review
  • Skin and tissue assessment, contraindications, referral triggers
Weeks 3-4

Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)

  • Measurement and fitting sequence, adjustment, verification
  • Patient education scripts and documentation of what was taught
Week 5

Formulation and Continuation (23% combined)

  • Product selection logic and timing
  • Follow-up triggers and reassessment
Week 6

Practice Management and full review (16%)

  • Ethics, privacy, documentation, and facility considerations
  • Timed mixed-domain question sets

Front-loading the two heavy domains means you revisit them again during mixed review, which is where most of your score is decided. For a fuller plan, see the CMF study guide, and keep the CMF cheat sheet handy for last-week review. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, use the CMF practice tests to find weak domains early.

Key Takeaway

Spend the first half of your preparation on Patient Evaluation and Implementation of the Treatment Plan. Together they carry 61% of the exam, and mistakes there cost far more than gaps in Continuation (8%).

Frequently Asked Questions

What does CMF stand for on this site?

CMF stands for Certified Fitter-mastectomy, an ABC credential with the official designation CFm. It is unrelated to other credentials that share the same acronym, including the separate BOC CMF. See what CMF stands for for more.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I get?

The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions. ABC's current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 guide listed 180 minutes, so confirm the time on your own authorization. The scored versus unscored split is not disclosed.

How much does it cost to get certified?

The application fee is $55 and the exam fee is $160, for $215 total on a first attempt. A retake costs $160, and a late application fee of $100 applies only when late filing is allowed. There is no member discount tier.

What do I need before I can apply?

You must be 18 with a high school diploma or GED, complete an approved course (minimum 8 hours as of April 2026: 6 didactic and 2 laboratory), and document either 120 supervised clinical hours or the qualifying 60-hour allied-health route, plus the required attestation. See the requirements guide.

How often must I renew, and what does it take?

Renewal costs $60 per year, and you must complete 10 CE credits every five years, with at least 5 scientific credits and no more than 5 business/ethics credits counted toward the total.

Ready to pass your CMF exam?

Put this into practice with free CMF questions across every exam domain.