- The Short Answer: What a CMF Is
- Not the Other CMF Credentials
- Who Grants the Credential and How the Exam Is Delivered
- What a Certified Fitter-Mastectomy Actually Does
- The Five Blueprint Domains
- Eligibility: Who Can Sit for the Exam
- Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
- Reading the Pass Rate Honestly
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Where CMF Holders Work
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CMF here means Certified Fitter-mastectomy, the ABC credential abbreviated CFm, not the separate BOC CMF credential.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, delivered by Meazure Learning at a center or by live remote proctoring.
- Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) together make up 61% of the blueprint.
- Total first-attempt cost is $215: a $55 application plus a $160 exam fee, with no member discount.
The Short Answer: What a CMF Is
A CMF is a Certified Fitter-mastectomy: a professional who has earned national certification in the fitting of post-mastectomy products. The official designation awarded by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC) is CFm, and the credential is commonly shortened to CMF in everyday conversation and job postings.
The work centers on helping people who have had a mastectomy or other breast surgery choose, fit, and adjust products such as breast forms and the garments that support them. It is a clinical-adjacent service role. The fitter evaluates the person, works within a treatment plan, delivers the product, and follows up. Certification signals that a fitter has met an education, experience, and examination standard set by a national board rather than by a single employer.
If you are new to the topic, our related explainers cover the same ground from slightly different angles, including What Is CMF Certification? and What Does CMF Stand For?. This article focuses on what the credential is, how it is structured, and what it takes to earn it.
Not the Other CMF Credentials
The acronym "CMF" is shared by several unrelated credentials in healthcare and elsewhere. That is a genuine source of confusion when you search online, because results, fee schedules, and exam outlines for a different CMF can look authoritative while describing a completely different certification.
A quick way to verify you are reading about the right credential: the correct source names the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, describes mastectomy fitting, and lists five domains from Patient Evaluation through Practice Management. If those markers are missing, keep looking.
Who Grants the Credential and How the Exam Is Delivered
The governing body is the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc., usually shortened to ABC. ABC sets eligibility rules, maintains the exam blueprint, and administers recertification.
The exam itself is a computer-based test delivered through Meazure Learning. Candidates can test at a Meazure Learning testing center or take the exam by live-remote proctoring. Key format facts:
- Length: 125 multiple-choice questions. The split between scored and unscored items is not disclosed.
- Time: The current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 candidate guide listed 180 minutes. Because these differ, confirm the time allowance on your authorization notice before test day.
- Rules: Closed book and administered in English.
- Passing standard: A numeric passing score has not been publicly verified, so be wary of any source that quotes one with confidence. See CMF Passing Score 2026 for how to think about this.
- Calculator and adaptive testing: The calculator policy and whether the exam adapts to your answers are not verified in the sources used here, so check your candidate materials.
What a Certified Fitter-Mastectomy Actually Does
Understanding the daily work makes the exam blueprint far easier to absorb, because the five domains mirror the arc of a real fitting relationship. A fitter does not simply hand over a product. The role follows a sequence:
- Evaluate the person. Gather history, review the treatment plan or prescription context, assess the surgical site and body shape, and note comfort, skin, and lifestyle considerations.
- Formulate a plan. Decide which product category and garment approach fits the clinical picture and the person's goals.
- Implement the plan. Measure, select, fit, adjust, and instruct the person on wear, care, and what to watch for.
- Continue care. Follow up, reassess fit as the body changes, and handle replacement or modification.
- Run the practice side. Documentation, ethics, privacy, billing awareness, and professional conduct.
This is sensitive, person-centered work. Fitters often meet clients at an emotionally difficult time, so communication, dignity, and privacy sit alongside technical skill. The exam reflects that by testing judgment, not only recall of product names.
The Five Blueprint Domains
The January 2025 blueprint divides the exam into five domains. The weights below are the exam content weights. Note that a separate linked work-time PDF carries different percentages; those describe time spent on tasks in practice and are not exam weights, so do not mix the two.
| Domain | Name | Exam Weight |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Patient Evaluation | 29% |
| 2 | Formulation of the Treatment Plan | 15% |
| 3 | Implementation of the Treatment Plan | 32% |
| 4 | Continuation of the Treatment Plan | 8% |
| 5 | Practice Management | 16% |
Two domains dominate. Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) combine for 61% of the blueprint, which means roughly three of every five questions come from those two areas. For a full walk-through, see CMF Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 5 Content Areas.
Domain 1: Patient Evaluation (29%)
Candidates must show they can gather and interpret the information needed before any product is chosen.
- Reviewing patient history and the context of the treatment plan
- Assessing the surgical site, body shape, and skin condition
- Recognizing findings that call for referral or clarification rather than proceeding to a fitting
- Communicating respectfully and documenting what you observe
Domain 2: Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%)
This domain tests how evaluation findings translate into a product and fitting approach.
- Matching product types and garment features to clinical and lifestyle needs
- Weighing options when more than one product could work
- Setting realistic expectations with the client
Domain 3: Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
The heaviest domain, and the one closest to hands-on practice.
- Measuring, selecting, and fitting products accurately
- Adjusting or modifying for comfort, symmetry, and function
- Teaching wear, care, cleaning, and replacement expectations
- Recognizing a poor fit and correcting it
Domain 4: Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%)
The smallest domain, but easy points if you prepare.
- Follow-up and reassessment as the body changes
- Managing replacements, repairs, and modifications over time
- Knowing when changes in condition warrant a conversation with the care team
Domain 5: Practice Management (16%)
The professional and operational layer that many clinically strong candidates underestimate.
- Documentation standards and record keeping
- Ethics, scope of practice, and professional conduct
- Privacy and confidentiality of client information
- Business awareness relevant to a fitting practice
Eligibility: Who Can Sit for the Exam
ABC requires candidates to meet education and experience prerequisites before they are authorized to test. The core requirements are:
- Age and schooling: At least 18 years old with a high school diploma or GED.
- Approved course: Completion of an approved mastectomy fitting course. As of April 2026, the minimum is 8 hours: 6 didactic and 2 laboratory.
- Clinical experience: 120 supervised clinical hours, or a qualifying route based on 60 hours in an allied-health setting.
- Attestation: A required attestation submitted as part of the application.
Because rules are revised over time, always check the current ABC requirements before you commit to a course or begin logging hours. Our detailed breakdown is in CMF Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and a plain-language overview of preparation options lives in CMF Training.
Fees, Retakes, and Attempt Limits
The fee structure is straightforward, and there is no member pricing tier:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $55 |
| Exam fee | $160 |
| Total first attempt | $215 |
| Retake fee | $160 |
| Late application fee (when allowed) | $100 |
Budget also for the approved course and any travel to a testing center, which are separate from ABC's fees. For a fuller accounting, see CMF Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Attempt limits you should know about
Under the current eligibility policy, a candidate has four attempts across three years, and the first attempt must occur within one year of authorization. A separate policy takes effect on January 1, 2027, structured around two periods, a six-year window, and eight attempts. Because the transition affects planning, read the language that applies to your authorization date rather than assuming one rule covers everyone. Scheduling specifics are covered in CMF Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Treat your first attempt as the one that counts. The fee, the attempt limits, and the one-year first-attempt window all reward candidates who finish their course and clinical hours first, then schedule the exam while the material is fresh.
Reading the Pass Rate Honestly
The official 2025 first-time pass rate is 93%. That is a strong figure, but it deserves careful reading. A related figure, 47 exams administered, is not a verified first-time denominator, so it should not be used to infer how many first-time candidates actually tested. In other words, the 93% is real and official, while the sample behind it is not something to over-interpret.
The practical takeaway: most prepared first-time candidates pass, which tells you the exam is a competence check rather than a gatekeeper designed to filter out the majority. It does not mean you can skip preparation, especially in the two heavily weighted domains. We examine the data and its limits in CMF Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and discuss perceived difficulty in How Hard Is the CMF Exam?.
Keeping the Credential Active
Earning the CFm is not a one-time event. To keep it, certified fitters must:
- Pay a $60 annual renewal fee.
- Complete 10 continuing education credits every five years, with a minimum of 5 in scientific topics and a maximum of 5 in business or ethics topics.
The split matters when you plan your CE: you cannot meet the requirement entirely with business or ethics courses, and you cannot skip them entirely either if you want a balanced path. Because the scientific minimum is 5, at least half of your credits must be clinical or technical in nature.
Where CMF Holders Work
Certified fitters typically work wherever post-mastectomy products are dispensed and fitted. Common employment settings include:
- Specialty mastectomy and breast care boutiques
- Durable medical equipment suppliers
- Hospital-affiliated or cancer-center retail and fitting services
- Orthotics and prosthetics practices that add mastectomy fitting to their service line
- Independent fitting practices run by the fitter
Employers value certification because it provides an objective, nationally recognized signal of competence, and in some settings it supports credibility with referring clinicians and insurers. We do not quote specific pay figures here because they vary widely by region, setting, and employment model; for the broader picture, read CMF Salary Guide 2026, explore openings in CMF Jobs, and weigh the investment in Is the CMF Certification Worth It?.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Rather than a generic study plan, order your preparation around the blueprint weights. The logic is simple: spend the most time where the most questions live, but do not leave the small domains untouched.
Patient Evaluation (29%)
- Review history-taking, assessment of the surgical site, and referral triggers
- Practice scenario questions that ask what to do before fitting
Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
- Drill measuring, fitting, adjustment, and client instruction
- Focus on recognizing and fixing poor fit
Formulation and Continuation (15% and 8%)
- Connect evaluation findings to product choices
- Cover follow-up, replacement, and reassessment
Practice Management and full review (16%)
- Documentation, ethics, privacy, and scope of practice
- Timed mixed practice across all five domains
Start with Patient Evaluation and Implementation because together they cover 61% of the exam and because the later domains build on them. Finish with Practice Management and a timed full-length run so that the ethics and documentation material is freshest when you test. For a complete preparation framework, see the CMF Study Guide 2026, and keep the CMF Cheat Sheet handy for last-minute review.
When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, our CMF practice tests are built around these five domains, and you can browse the full CMF Exam Prep question bank to find weak spots before test day.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified Fitter-mastectomy. The official ABC designation is CFm. It is a different credential from the BOC CMF, despite the shared abbreviation. A fuller explanation is in What Does CMF Mean?.
The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions. The proportion of scored versus unscored items is not disclosed. Time allowance has been listed as 150 minutes on the current exam page and 180 minutes in a December 2024 guide, so confirm yours with your authorization notice.
The application fee is $55 and the exam fee is $160, for a total of $215 on a first attempt. A retake costs $160, and a late application fee of $100 applies when late applications are allowed. There is no member discount tier.
Implementation of the Treatment Plan at 32% and Patient Evaluation at 29% are the largest, totaling 61% of the blueprint. Practice Management follows at 16%, then Formulation of the Treatment Plan at 15%, and Continuation of the Treatment Plan at 8%.
Pay the $60 annual renewal fee and complete 10 continuing education credits every five years, with at least 5 scientific and no more than 5 business or ethics credits.