- What the CFm Credential Actually Is
- Who Hires Certified Mastectomy Fitters
- The Eligibility Path, Step by Step
- Fees, Registration and Delivery
- Exam Format and Question Style
- The Five Domains in Depth
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Blueprint
- After You Pass: Renewal and Retake Rules
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Certified Fitter-mastectomy (CFm) is issued by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. (ABC).
- Total cost is $215: a $55 application plus a $160 exam fee, with no member discount tier.
- The exam has 125 multiple-choice questions, closed book, in English.
- Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) together make up 61% of the blueprint.
What the CFm Credential Actually Is
Certified Fitter-mastectomy is a professional credential awarded by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc., commonly shortened to ABC. The official designation is CFm. It signals that a fitter has demonstrated competence in evaluating patients after breast surgery and in selecting, fitting, and following up on mastectomy products such as breast prostheses, post-surgical garments, and specialty bras.
One point of confusion is worth clearing up immediately: the acronym "CMF" is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries. This article, and this site, concern only the ABC credential for mastectomy fitters. It is not the separate BOC credential that happens to use similar letters. If you are searching for fees, dates, or content outlines, make sure the source names the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics. For a plain-language introduction to the terminology, see our explainer on what CMF certification is.
Who Hires Certified Mastectomy Fitters
Mastectomy fitting sits at the intersection of retail, clinical care, and durable medical equipment. Certified fitters typically work in settings such as:
- Specialty mastectomy boutiques that focus on post-surgical products and offer private fitting rooms.
- Durable medical equipment suppliers that bill insurance for breast prostheses and related garments.
- Hospital and cancer center boutiques that serve patients before and after surgery and reconstruction.
- Orthotic and prosthetic practices that add breast prosthesis fitting to their service lines.
- Lingerie and apparel retailers with a dedicated post-surgical department.
Employers value the credential because it provides a recognized benchmark of patient-care competence, and because documentation and billing standards in this niche are demanding. A fitter who understands both the clinical picture and the paperwork is easier to trust with insured patients. If you are weighing the career angle, our guides on CMF jobs and the return on investment of the certification go deeper, and the salary guide covers earnings context.
The Eligibility Path, Step by Step
ABC does not let candidates simply register and sit. You must qualify first, and the requirements combine education, hands-on experience, and a signed attestation. In summary:
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Hold a high school diploma or GED.
- Complete an approved mastectomy fitter course. Under the April 2026 minimum, the course must total at least 8 hours: 6 of didactic instruction and 2 of laboratory work.
- Document clinical experience. The standard route is 120 supervised clinical hours. A qualifying allied-health route allows 60 hours.
- Submit the required attestation as part of your application.
Our dedicated CMF requirements guide walks through documentation in more detail, and the CMF training overview covers how to choose a course provider.
Fees, Registration and Delivery
The fee structure is simple compared with many professional credentials. There is no member pricing tier, so everyone pays the same amount.
| Item | Cost |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $55 |
| Exam fee | $160 |
| Total for a first attempt | $215 |
| Retake exam fee | $160 |
| Late application fee (when late applications are allowed) | $100 |
| Annual renewal | $60 |
The exam is delivered as a computer-based test through Meazure Learning, either at a testing center or by live remote proctoring. Choose based on your environment: a testing center removes home-network and room-compliance worries, while remote delivery saves travel but requires a compliant space and equipment. For the full budgeting picture, including training costs that sit outside ABC fees, read the CMF certification cost breakdown. Scheduling windows and deadlines are covered in CMF exam dates.
Exam Format and Question Style
The exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions. It is closed book and administered in English. A few details are intentionally not publicly specified, so plan around uncertainty rather than guessing:
- Scored versus unscored items: ABC does not disclose the split, so treat every question as if it counts.
- Time allowed: The current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 candidate guide listed 180 minutes. Confirm the figure on your authorization-to-test notice rather than relying on either source alone.
- Numeric passing standard: A specific cut score has not been publicly verified. See our discussion of the CMF passing score for what is and is not known.
- Calculator and adaptive-testing policy: Not verified, so do not assume either way.
Questions in a practitioner credential like this tend to be scenario-driven. Expect situations that describe a patient's surgical history, tissue condition, comfort concerns, or product-fit problem and ask for the most appropriate next step, product choice, or documentation action. Memorizing definitions alone is not enough; you need to apply them to a described patient.
The Five Domains in Depth
The January 2025 blueprint divides the exam into five domains. Understanding the weighting helps you decide where to spend your hours. For a complete walkthrough, see the CMF exam domains guide; below is a practical summary.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Patient Evaluation | 29% |
| Formulation of the Treatment Plan | 15% |
| Implementation of the Treatment Plan | 32% |
| Continuation of the Treatment Plan | 8% |
| Practice Management | 16% |
Domain 1: Patient Evaluation (29%)
This domain is about gathering the information that drives every later decision. You are expected to interpret a patient's history and physical presentation accurately.
- Surgical history: type of mastectomy, lumpectomy, reconstruction status, and radiation or other treatment effects
- Physical assessment of the chest wall, scar tissue, skin integrity, and symmetry
- Measurement techniques and recognizing when measurements are unreliable, such as during swelling or healing
- Identifying precautions and red flags that call for referral back to the physician
- Understanding the patient's lifestyle, preferences, and goals
Domain 2: Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%)
Here you translate evaluation findings into a plan, which includes selecting the right category of product.
- Matching prosthesis types (for example, weight, shape, and attachment style) to anatomy and activity level
- Choosing garments that provide appropriate support, coverage, and pocketing
- Considering timing relative to surgery, healing, and further treatment
- Coordinating with prescribers and aligning the plan with documented medical need
Domain 3: Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%)
The heaviest domain covers the hands-on fitting work. If you only have time to master one area deeply, this is it.
- Fitting and adjusting prostheses and garments for balance, comfort, and appearance
- Evaluating fit in the garment: cup position, band support, strap placement, and edge coverage
- Patient instruction on wearing, care, cleaning, and storage of products
- Handling problem fits such as migration, rubbing, asymmetry, or irritation and knowing how to correct them
- Maintaining privacy, dignity, and clear communication throughout the fitting
Domain 4: Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%)
The smallest domain addresses follow-up and long-term care.
- Reassessing fit as the patient's body changes over time
- Replacement schedules and recognizing wear on products
- Responding to patient-reported problems after delivery
Domain 5: Practice Management (16%)
This domain covers the professional and business side that surrounds clinical work, and candidates who come from a retail background sometimes underestimate it.
- Documentation and record keeping that support medical necessity
- Billing awareness, coding basics, and payer expectations
- Patient privacy, ethics, and scope of practice
- Facility standards, hygiene, and professional conduct
Evaluation plus implementation account for 61% of the blueprint. That is where scenario questions will cluster, so these two domains deserve the majority of your attention.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Blueprint
Rather than a generic schedule, tie your calendar to the weights. The sequence below follows the natural order of patient care, which also mirrors how the exam's scenarios unfold. For a fuller method, see the CMF study guide.
Patient Evaluation first
- Review surgery types, reconstruction status, and post-treatment tissue changes
- Practice identifying precautions that require physician contact
Treatment Plan formulation
- Build product-selection logic: which prosthesis and garment suit which presentation
- Connect plan choices to documented need
Implementation, your longest block
- Drill fit-evaluation checkpoints and troubleshooting scenarios
- Rehearse patient-instruction content on care and wear
Continuation and practice management
- Cover follow-up care and replacement concepts
- Review documentation, billing, ethics, and privacy
Key Takeaway
Finish your study plan with mixed-domain practice questions rather than reading alone. Scenario items blend evaluation, planning, and implementation in a single question, and timed practice with the CMF practice test shows you whether you can apply the material, not just recognize it.
If you want a quick reference for last-minute review, the CMF cheat sheet condenses the highest-yield facts onto one page.
After You Pass: Renewal and Retake Rules
Maintaining the credential
Certification is not permanent. To keep your CFm designation active, you must pay a $60 annual renewal and earn 10 continuing education credits every five years. At least 5 of those credits must be scientific, and no more than 5 may come from business or ethics topics. Plan your continuing education early rather than cramming near the deadline.
Attempt limits
Retakes cost $160 each. Under the current eligibility policy, you have four attempts over three years, and your first attempt must occur within one year of becoming eligible. ABC has also published a separate policy, beginning January 1, 2027, that shifts to a structure of two periods, six years, and eight attempts. Because the transition affects planning, confirm which policy governs your own eligibility window before you schedule.
How hard is it?
ABC's official 2025 first-time pass rate is 93%. Treat that as encouraging but not as a guarantee: the count of 47 exams administered is not a verified first-time denominator, so avoid reading too much into small-sample figures. For balanced context, see how hard the CMF exam is and our analysis of the CMF pass rate.
Frequently Asked Questions
It refers to Certified Fitter-mastectomy, designated CFm, awarded by the American Board for Certification in Orthotics, Prosthetics and Pedorthics, Inc. It is not the separate BOC credential that shares similar letters.
A first attempt costs $215, made up of a $55 application fee and a $160 exam fee. There is no member pricing tier. A retake costs $160, and a late application fee of $100 applies when late applications are permitted.
There are 125 multiple-choice questions, closed book and in English. The current exam page lists 150 minutes, while a December 2024 guide listed 180 minutes, so confirm the time on your authorization notice.
Implementation of the Treatment Plan (32%) and Patient Evaluation (29%) together total 61% of the blueprint. Practice Management (16%), Formulation of the Treatment Plan (15%), and Continuation of the Treatment Plan (8%) make up the rest.
You must pay a $60 annual renewal and complete 10 continuing education credits every five years, with at least 5 scientific credits and no more than 5 business or ethics credits.